Progress on Modern Family: Cookie Monster

Look at this hilarity!!!

So I just finished writing the first draft on my cold open of a spec I’ve dubbed “Cookie Monster.” The premise is basically how competition over something so simple as a plate of cookies is turning everyone into…monsters.

I missed class today. Too much going on at work, and I’ve been exhausted, but I decided to sit down and devote some time today to my spec. After this post, I’m going to write one more scene, and then watch tonight’s episode, waiting for me on the old DVR.

But speaking of watching episodes, I’ve been starting to get anxious about writing this thing. Whenever I laugh out loud at a line, it reminds me that I actually have to write a script of this stuff. And it has to be good enough to make someone else LOLOLOL all over themselves (hopefully so that they’ll hire me).

When my class is over, I think my next steps, as far as writing specs and originals, will be:

Community Spec – I wrote an outline for one last spring, and I hated it, but now that the show has a better understanding as to what the heck it is, I think I’ will feel more comfortable adapting to its format.

Parks & Recreation spec or an original pilot – P&R is fairly serial, so we’ll see how I’m feeling about it this summer or fall. I’ve also been toying with the idea I’ve had for an original series for a year or two (an animated series). I think the odds are tilted that I’ll write the original after Community, but I might come up with a great standalone P&R idea that I’ll want to knock out.

And if any of my 2 (maybe?) readers would like to see the outline of my Modern Family spec, I’d be glad to share. Just leave a comment below, and I’ll send it to you. Just know it’s also in rough shape, but it’s all a work in progress.

About Michelle

I like pie. And clapping.

Posted on February 24, 2011, in Quarter 1: Winter 2010, Writing a Half-Hour Comedy Spec and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

