Show Business — Oh Yeah, It’s a Business

The Most Amazing Photo Filed Under "Business"

Years ago, when I was trying to decide upon what my next move would be after college, I briefly considered getting an MBA in Entrepreneurship or Management. I have to admit, I am incredibly happy that I decided against it. Just like my rationale with film school, I figured there was little point in sinking $100,000 into a degree if it’s not necessary. In fact, after turning down (twice) a chance to earn an MA in Journalism at USC, I told the vice president of human resources at my job last week that the last five years have BEEN my MA program — and I earned money while learning!

Anyway, all that being said, I know that I have a lot to learn about business in general. It does help that I am somewhat entrepreneurial and business-driven. I just don’t like the ickiness of being A Suit. Really, I commend the people who have a punch card at Brooks Brothers and looooooove to talk dividends, but that ain’t me. At least not completely. I find finance, economy, management, leadership, startups, all that stuff to be kind of interesting. But, if I want to be a producer, I have to know things beyond “oh, that’s kind of interesting…”

So, this quarter, whilst enrolled at UCLA’s Summer Producing Program, I’ll also be hunkered down, reading a selection of books to help me understand business. The selected reading:

Business Model Generation by Alexander Osterwalder and Yves Pigneur (288 pages)

Built to Last, by Jim Collins and Jerry Porrass (219 pages)

Made to Stick, by Chip & Dan Heath (291 pages)

Purple Cow by Seth Godin (144 pages)

Freakonomics, by Steven Levitt and Stephen Dubner (268 pages)

First, Break All the Rules, by Marcus Buckingham (269 pages)

I came up with this list with the help of Josh Kaufman at the Personal MBA, and Danny Iny at Copy Blogger. The books cover the very basic range of business education: leadership, entrepreneurship, management, finance, economy, marketing, systems, and project management. Some of these are definitive books in their field, and others are a more entertaining (yet informative!) look at a general topic.

In the end, I’m going to re-form one of my own business plans. To be fair, I know very little about forming actual business plans. However, last spring, I wrote one for a class I took on launching and operating a production company. The idea went over well, and I got an A (naturally), but after learning more about business generally through these books, and producing more specifically through my summer program, if my idea still holds up. So, without further ado, here is Sparkcast, basically my dream business to launch if someone were to hand me a bajillion dollars. Or, you know, start from the ground up, blah blah blah.

About Michelle

I like pie. And clapping.

Posted on June 21, 2011, in Quarter 3: Summer 2011, The Truncated MBA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

