So I read Lost in Translation

I know Lost in Translation is a divisive film. Some people loved it, some people hated it. All I know is that when I rented it from Prince Video on Hillside Avenue back in the summer of 2004, the DVD was scratched, so I couldn’t watch it. It was about 15 minutes in, so I didn’t get to see much of it anyway.

Well, reading Sofia Coppola’s screenplay actually made me think about how clearly divisive this film could actually be. If anything, it feels like a sequence of events with some sexual angst underlying underneath. The meaty story here is actually incredibly subtle, which probably seems lackluster to some. I get it. Also, I forgot that Scarlett Johansson was the lead female in Lost in Translation. For some reason, I had pictured Zooey Deschanel in that role until one of the last few pages mentioned the character’s blon

But I really liked the subtlety and simplicity. However, film is a visual medium, and I think that simplicity to it that I think may get lost in the actual filming.

About Michelle

I like pie. And clapping.

Posted on July 19, 2011, in Analysis of Scripts of the Last Decade, Foundation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

