OMFG, I was a PA!!!

Me, standing in for a dancer/performance artist. My legs were definitely asleep at this point.

OK, to many people, being a Production Assistant on a small-scale, pro-bono PSA is really not a big deal. But for me, it was a big freaking deal because it was the first time I got to actually work on a set. I’ve been to tapings and shoots before, but this was the first time I actually got to do stuff like schlep pieces of scenery, or arrange the fruit on a craft services table.

I was fortunate to get this opportunity through the Women in Film Foundation, which produces 8 pro-bono PSAs for different organizations based in Santa Monica (you don’t have to be a member, but I’m planning on joining anyway). The PSA I worked on was for Highways, an LGBT performance space, which is PERFECT for me because of my job.

Anyway, I was there from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on a Sunday, and as exhausted as I was at the end of it all, I’m glad I volunteered my time. It also reminded me that I DO have actual production experience: I produced and co-produced a weekly improv show for two years! I have some resume updating to do. In the meantime, this is what it was like for part of our day on set:

Here, we’re shooting gay rapper Deadlee, who looks scary and intimidating, but we’re now BFF, basically.

About Michelle

I like pie. And clapping.

Posted on October 17, 2011, in Foundation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

